Designs by Thomas Chippendale (1718-1779).

Carving by Grinling Gibbons (1648-1721)
at Hampton Court Palace.


The Linton Antique Society was founded in 1973 with the aim of holding regular meetings where members could discuss aspects of the arts and crafts, and to promote fellowship with like-minded societies. Today, the Society still pursues broadly similar aims by organising annual seasons of talks and discussions on all aspects of the applied and fine arts – ranging across pictures, fabrics, ceramics, furniture, interior design, architecture, lighting, carpets, clocks or, indeed, anything that we encounter in our domestic or public environments – and their relationship with social history.  If there is a strong relevant local Yorkshire connection, all the better!

We regularly attract distinguished expert speakers who provide knowledgeable and entertaining insights into their subject so that, whether you already know a lot about a topic or never imagined you could have an interest in it, you’ll discover something new.

Our meetings run from October to April and are held on the second Thursday of each month at the Memorial Hall at Linton, Wetherby. There is an adjacent car park. Meetings start at 7.30 or 8.00pm – please check the programme for times.

Meetings are open to non-members at a cost of £5.00.  Naturally, we hope that once you’ve experienced one or two meetings, you’ll want to become a member.

In addition we also organise a number of popular events – this season, outings in September (to Sion Hill Hall) and May (Arley Hall & Gardens) plus the annual lunch in March 2017, which we hope will be as successful as 2016's.

On this website you’ll find details of current and past programmes, information about speakers and their subjects, and how to become a member.  We hope that you will enjoy our programme of events.

The Society and its programme is organised by a committee, elected by members at the Annual General Meeting held each April.  The members of the committee for 2015-16 are:
Mrs Mary Barnett (Chairman)
Mr Robert Haskins (Treasurer)
Mrs Barbara Hepburn (Membership Secretary)
Mr Michael Harvey (Publicity/Website)
Mrs Pamela Kirby (Social Secretary)
Mrs Anne Hoyle
Mrs Jennie Latham

You can contact members of the committee through our CONTACT page.

Nominations for membership of the Committee are welcome and should be submitted to the Chairman by 29 March 2017 in time for the next Annual General Meeting on 13 April.